How Does Ranked Valorant Work

Posted on

Valorant just released the Competitive ranked mode and it is becoming a staple for ex-CS:GO and ex-Overwatch players to grind through. So, how does ranked Valorant work? Here is what you need to know.

There are eight ranks in Valorant Competitive. Every rank has three levels with the exception of Valorant (the highest level). It means you are able to push ro drop 22 levels in total for your competitive experience. Every ranked level has an icon linked to it to give you and your teammates a visualization of what your current rank is. here are the total competitive ranks that you can achieve:

  • Iron 1
  • Iron 2
  • Iron 3
  • Bronze 1
  • Bronze 2
  • Bronze 3
  • Silver 1
  • Silver 2
  • Silver 3
  • Gold 1
  • Gold 2
  • Gold 3
  • Platinum 1
  • Platinum 2
  • Platinum 3
  • Diamond 1
  • Diamond 2
  • Diamond 3
  • Immortal 1
  • Immortal 2
  • Immortal 3
  • Valorant

If you want to get your first Valorant competitive rank, you will have to fulfill the initial requirements. The first thing that you have to do right after install is to play 20 unranked games. In case you have already been playing in the beta, your past games count toward this initial 20 games. it feeds the system data for what type of player you are and how you need to start off in your ranked games. Aside from that, it also allows you to learn and understand how the game works with the other players before diving into the competitive experience which might be a bit too hard for brand new players.

After playing 20 matches in unranked, you will need to play 5 ranked games with either unranked players or players who have done their placement matches. The system will take into account how you are doing against the upper and lower ranked players in the game to determine if you will earn rating or lose rating. It is important because you are still able to technically gain rating on a loss or lose rating on a win.

After completing the first 5 competitive games, Valorant will assign you a rank for the next competitive games. You will be located in matches with ranks 5 levels or two ranks above or below yours. It is also how queuing with your friends works. If your friends are 6 levels above or below yours, it means you will not be able to play with them until you earn rating to match theirs or they earn or lose rating to match yours.

While playing the competitive game mode, the rank will be combined based on wins and losses, your contribution to the objectives, kills and last but totally not least, your use of abilities and utility. Your individual achievement in these games also matters even though the most important thing for your rating is wins. You will have to plant and defuse bombs, get entry or initial frags or kills. In addition, you will also have to use your smokes, molotovs, acid bombs or walls to assist your teammates in kills and objective wins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *